The British Screenwriters' Awards 2017

The Fourth British Screenwriters’ Awards was a spectacular and celebratory evening hosted by Deborah Francis-White of Guilty Feminist notoriety. The awards were individually presented by special guests and the ceremony was hosted by the fabulous Fleur Keith. The voice overs for the awards videos were performed by Kat Rose Martin adding an delicious regional accent to the proceedings.

The 2017 Nominations are listed below with winners in red

Outstanding Newcomer for British Feature Film Writing

  • 100 Streets by Leon Butler
  • Eddie The Eagle by Sean Macaulay
  • The Girl with all the Gifts by Mike Carey
  • The Pass by John Donnelly
  • Prevenge by Alice Lowe
  • Under The Shadow by Babak Anvari

Best British Children's Television

  • The Amazing World of Gumball by the writing team
  • Class Dismissed by the writing team
  • Counterfeit Cat by the writing team
  • Eve by the writing team
  • The Worst Witch by the writing team

Outstanding Newcomer for British Television Writing

  • Apple Tree Yard by Amanda Coe and Louise Doughty
  • Damilola, Our Beloved Boy by Levi David Addai
  • Fleabag by Phoebe Waller-Bridge
  • The Hollow Crown by Ben Power
  • NW by Rachel Bennette (Based on novel by Zadie Smith)

Best British TV Drama Writing

  • Three Girls by Nicole Taylor
  • The Crown by Peter Morgan
  • Little Boy Blue by Jeff Pope
  • The Moorside by Neil McKay
  • National Treasure by Jack Thorne

Best Crime Writing on Television (Series/Single Drama)

  • Broadchurch by Chris Chibnall
  • Born to Kill by Kate Ashfield, Tracey Malone and Kate Gartside
  • Broken by Jimmy McGovern, Shaun Duggan, Colette Kane and Nick Leather
  • Line of Duty by Jed Mercurio
  • The Missing by Harry Williams and Jack Williams
  • Unforgotten by Chris Lang

Best Comedy Writing on Television

  • Camping by Julia Davis
  • This Country by Charlie Cooper and Daisy May Cooper
  • The Durrells by Simon Nye
  • Flowers by Will Sharpe
  • People Just Do Nothing by Asim Chaudhry, Steve Stamp and Allan Mustafa
  • Upstart Crow by Ben Elton

Best British Feature Film Writing

  • Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie by Jennifer Saunders
  • American Honey by Andrea Arnold
  • Free Fire by Amy Jump and Ben Wheatley
  • T2 by John Hodge (Based on the novel by Irvine Welsh)
  • A United Kingdom by Guy Hibbert (Based on the novel by Susan Williams)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • George RR Martin for 'Game Of Thrones'